HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY – BECAUSE I HAD TO…..

It’s almost that day again! Time to start thinking about what to get your better half for “the most romantic day” of the year!

Valentines day background

I know, I know, you are romantic every day! (Rolls eyes) You know however, if you don’t bring him/her something special you WILL be in the doghouse, but what if you have been married/co-habitating for the last hundred years?? He/she knows you love them right? Why do you have to prove it? Because if you don’t you will certainly NEVER hear the end of it! But he/she said “I don’t want or need anything babe, I have everything, I have YOU” Aw how sweet! DO NOT FALL FOR IT!  It is a trap!

Even if you have spent so many years together, you must, must, must get something special for him/her. Champagne? Roses? Jewelry? A new flat screen? Theater/game tickets? And the list goes on. And don’t you dare forget a card!! As for when these are presented, it must be done along with a trip to a romantic restaurant where you both will engage in lavishly feeding each other tasty morsels, wrapping your arms around each other as you lift the champagne flutes to each other’s lips while playing footsie under the table. Sorry, I got carried away.

vday 10.jpg

What if you just can’t be a hypocrite? I mean you love each other but let’s get real, you get up every day hair all askew, drool escaping from the side of your mouth and you both grunt as you walk to the bathroom. You give/get an “air kiss” as you fly out the door to work. You love each other but hey, they will be there when you get home. You don’t have to win the “prize” you already have it. You played the game and you won! Who needs all that drippy romantic stuff!

vday-4

I mean what would it be like if we could give the gifts that we “sometimes” feel:

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY: (insert phrase)

BECAUSE I HAVE TO

YOU ARE OK

YOU MAKE ME SMILE (SOMETIMES)

I DIDN’T WANNA BE A JERK

YOU ARE A GOOD COOK

and more….

Then there are times when these seem appropriate:

But we all know we can’t go there!

I’m thinking these may be a little extreme. I mean, we can think them  or fantasize about giving these but we that’s where it ends.

So I would suggest that we start getting our game plan on now! We are weeks away people! Call the restaurant, make reservations and start looking for that “perfect” gift. Don’t fall for the trap! Buy the jewelry, get the roses, the chocolates and who knows maybe even the mariachi band! It’s only one day of the year! You can do it!

Wishing all of you a very special and romantic Valentine’s Day!

May cupid’s arrow hit you in the butt!

cupid.png

 

